New Georgia Boating Regulations 2013

These videos highlight new Georgia boating regulations and requirements for 2013 and other safety tips to keep in mind as you hit the water this summer.  These videos cover:

  • New Boating Under the Influence (BUI) Law, Effective May 15, 2013: Known as the "Jake and Griffin Prince BUI Law," this law lowers the blood alcohol concentration for BUI to 0.08, mirroring Georgia's DUI law. The change is effective May 15, 2013.
  • New Life Jacket Requirement, Effective May 15, 2013: Requires that children under 13 years old wear a personal flotation device (PFD) when aboard a moving vessel on Georgia waters.
  • New Boater Education Requirement, Effective July 1, 2014: Known as the "Kile Glover Boat Education Law," this law requires that anyone born on or after January 1, 1998 who operates any motorized vessel on Georgia waters must complete a boating education course approved by DNR prior to operation of such vessel.
  • 100-Foot Law: Prohibits people from operating any vessel at a speed greater than idle speed within 100 feet of any vessel which is moored, anchored or adrift outside normal traffic channels, or within 100 feet of any wharf, dock, pier, piling, bridge structure or abutment, person in the water, or shoreline of any residence or public use area. It is also illegal for watercraft operators to jump the wake of another vessel within 100 feet. This law has been in effect, but is still commonly violated by boat and watercraft operators on Georgia waters.

 




Receive FREE, timely updates on topics of interest. Sign Up Here!

Available Now! Click here to download.

LICENSES - 3 Ways to Buy

1. Phone 1-800-366-2661
2. Online - here
3. Retail License Vendor listing - here


Ranger Hotline: (800) 241-4113

Ranger Hotline

(800)-241-4113

Report poaching and wildlife violations. You can receive a cash reward if your tip leads to an arrest—even if you wish to remain anonymous.
More Info >